Main Nav
2011 Diversity Visa Lottery Program Registration

» Immigration Law Updates

2011 Diversity Visa Lottery Program Registration

September 30, 2009

The United States Department of State has announced its Diversity Visa lottery for 2011. DV-2011 applications must be submitted electronically between noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4), Friday, October 2, 2009, and noon, Eastern Standard Time (EST) (GMT-5), Monday, November 30, 2009. Applicants may access the electronic Diversity Visa entry form (E-DV) during the registration period. Applicants are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last week of the registration period to enter. Heavy demand may result in website delays and the State Department will not accept entries submitted after noon EST on November 30, 2009.

For DV-2011, natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply because the countries sent a total of more than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the previous five years: BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, ECUADOR, EL SALVADOR, GUATEMALA, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, POLAND, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM. Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible.

No countries have been added or removed from the list of eligible countries for DV-2010. Good luck!

News Alert Signup


“WSM is right there to help when an immigration situation arises.”